Dean joined the Tennis Sydney Committee in 2009 and took on the role of sole Tournament Director in 2010. Since that time the AGLO  and the Peter Deacon Spring Tournament have grown considerably in both size and prestige. Dean has been instrumental in our participation and Membership to the GLTA) since 2010.

Under Dean’s guidance the Club’s ability to host and run tournaments resulted in the inaugural AGLO 2013 attracting a record 208 players across 17 events. The Tournament was also sanctioned by the GLTA as a Master Series event and was honoured as the Best Sporting Event during the 2013 Mardi Gras Festival. The success of AGLO can, in no small way, be attributed to Dean’s hard work over the years in helping to build our tournaments to truly professional levels that are eagerly anticipated by players from Tennis Sydney, inter-state and overseas.

Dean has also worked hard and long to build not only communications, but also relationships, with other Clubs both here and overseas which has seen increased participation from them in our tournaments. He has been a vocal and active supporter of increasing the participation of women in Tennis Sydney generally, and the tournaments in particular. His knowledge of the Tournament Software and scheduling matches is second to none. Dean gladly shares his knowledge of the system and helps all the one-day tournament directors with every part of the tournament, which is valuable to the Club for future tournaments.

During his time on the Tennis Sydney Committee, Dean has also held roles in Membership, as Treasurer and Vice President and represented the Club at Team Sydney events. He left the Committee in May 2015 as the outgoing Tournament Director.

For his outstanding contribution to the growth and running of Tennis Sydney tournaments and for initiating and managing the Tennis Sydney Membership to the GLTA, Dean Matterson joined the Tennis Sydney ‘Hall of Fame’.

Dean was inducted into the Hall of Fame by Carl Copas in 2015.