2014 AGM and meet the Committee

President: Brendan Moore

Vice-President: Steven Thorne

Secretary: Leanne Spencer

Treasurer: Rob Sheedy

Elected to the Committee were: Tracey Macmillan, Tiffany Ng, Byron Watson, Kevin Thompson and Dean Matterson.

Supporting the Committee are Tim Pailthorpe who continues as Membership Officer and LC Teh as the webmaster.

The minutes from the 2013 AGM were accepted and the President and Treasurer Reports for 2014 were tabled and are now available on the website under About Us/ Corporate.

Three other matters were raised under Other Business.

1. The announcement that Tennis Sydney has partnered with Amazon Tennis effectively bringing both Clubs under one administration.

2. Sunday Social fees have not been raised since 2004 while the hours of tennis have increased from the previous 4 hours to 5 hours for several years now. Sunday Social rarely runs at break-even and three options were proposed to Members to address the current ‘losses’ on this event.

A     A move to Cintra Park Concord which would offer lower court hire rates

B     Reduce the number of hours of play at Parklands from 5 hours back to 4 hours each Sunday

C     Increase Sunday Social fees while maintaining the current 5 hours of play and any excess fees collected be pooled and returned to Members with lunches or reduced price tennis days.

The three options were put to a vote, with Option C being voted the most preferred by the majority of Members present at the AGM.

Effective from Sunday 1 June 2014, Sunday Social fees will increase from $15.00 to $20.00 for Members and from $20.00 to $25.00 for non-members. The fee for full-time students and government healthcare card holders will remain at $10.00 and first time visitors to Sunday Social will pay $15.00.

3. Tennis Sydney will institute a formal code of conduct and complaints process.

More details about the above discussions will be available on the website shortly.