2012 Hard Courts Doubles Classic

Online entry: Click Here


Who: Tennis Sydney members only.  So, sign-up/renew if you are not already an active member

Divisions: 4 divisions, each consisting of 2 groups of 5 teams

Tournament Type: Round Robin

Surface: Plexicushion

Set Format: Within each group, each team will play 4 matches of 1 standard set (first to 6 with a standard tiebreak at 5-5. 3 point short deuce will be utilised). The winner of each group will advance to their division final.

Court allocation: As we have 8 groups and 8 courts, each group will be dedicated a single court. Court allocation will be decided by lucky draw prior to commencement of the tournament, or by bribing the Tournament Director.

Order of play: As each group has a dedicated court, play can be self-managed by adhering to the following order of play.

09:00 am start – 1 vs 2  followed by, 3 vs 4, 1 vs 5, 2 vs 3, 4 vs 5, 1 vs 3, 2 vs 4, 3 vs 5, 1 vs 4, 2 vs 5, then finals (winners of group A vs group B) at approximately 4pm.

Team numbers will be allocated by the Tournament Planner and first round matches published on the GLTA site.

Group Names: We will  honour the Sydney International’s champions since commencement at the SOPTS in 2000, and the 2000 Gold Olympiad as follows –

Azarenka (2012). Li (2011). Dementieva (2010, 2009), Henin (2008, 2006, 2004), Clijsters (2007, 2003), Molik (2005), Hingis (2002, 2001), Mauresmo (2000), V.Williams (2000 Olympics)

Start scrambling for your partner immediately.  If the Oxford falls tournament is anything to go by, this tournament will sell out fast!

$5.00 from each team entry will go toward the Tennis Sydney Charity Fundraising for 2012.

Tim Pailthorpe
Tournament Director