2010 Peter Deacon Tournament WrapUp

The 2010 Peter Deacon Spring Tournament was the largest spring tournament Tennis Sydney has staged in the last decade or so. Thank you to the 108 players who took part in the competition and to all the friends and supporters who joined us at the Illawarra Tennis Centre, Rockdale.  We hope you enjoyed the weekend.

I would like to thank everyone who assisted with this tournament and helped to make it a success, in particular the Tennis Sydney Committee, Michael Catterall, Leanne Spencer, Dean Matterson, Matus Rajnoha, Geoff Daus, Steve Cashen, Russell Hall, Teh, Michael Sugg and Edward Alimin for their work in planning and staging of the tournament. I want to thank Geoff and Dean, who seeded the tournament with a great degree of success, Matus, Steve and Adrian, who set up on Friday night and made the tennis centre look great, and Leanne for her excellent support all weekend ensuring everything ran smoothly around the centre, in setting up and packing down each day. Michael (S) for his assistance at the control desk and as our announcer for the weekend, Michael (C) as our official photographer for the weekend, and to Steve Cashen and his partner Adrian, who provided us with a fantastic barbeque, tea, coffee and biscuits. Thank you also to all other members who gave a hand throughout the weekend.

Our enormous gratitude goes to our Tournament Director, Dean Matterson, who once again took on the task and spent an inordinate number of hours organising a very successful tournament.

Finally to all the players who took part in the tournament, we thank you for your continued support and participation in the Peter Deacon Tournament, in helping it to grow and for making it fun as well as a competitive weekend for all.

You can now check the GLTA Tournament site which shows all the  match details and the list of all the winners and runners-up by clicking here Final Results

We hope to see you all at our next major Tournament of the year, the 2011 Mardi Gras Championships, which will be held again at Illawarra Tennis Centre on 25th (eve), 26th and 27th February 2011.


Brendan Moore